#1: START AN INSTAGRAM LIVE

To start an Instagram Live broadcast, tap on the Your Story profile photo (with the + sign next to it) at the top of your Instagram news feed. Or if you’ve scrolled down your news feed and don’t see that bar anymore, tap on the camera icon at the top left of your Instagram screen.

Click the Your Story profile photo to start an Instagram story.

Click the Your Story profile photo to start an Instagram story. This takes you to your Instagram Stories, where you can choose from 7 options:

  • Live: 
  • Create
  • Normal: 
  • Boomerang: 
  • Layout
  • Superzoom
  • Hands-Free

Use your finger to slide over to Live to get to Instagram’s Live broadcasting feature.

Check Your Instagram Story Settings

You’ll want to look over your Instagram story settings before you go live. Tap the settings wheel icon at the top left. to configure your Instagram Story Settings.

Tap the settings wheel to configure your Instagram Story settings.

Then make sure all of your Instagram settings are in order.

Always check your Instagram Story settings before you go live. These settings let you configure whom you want (or more likely, don’t want) to see your Instagram story and who can message you about your story. It also allows you to repost or download your video once the live has ended. 

Flip Your Camera

Is your camera pointed the wrong way? Tap the icon (circular arrows) to the right of your Start Live Video button to flip your camera. Once your camera is facing your target, make sure that the visual is clear, you may need to adjust your angle to ensure good lighting or clean your camera lens if the picture looks musty.

Tap the arrow icon to flip your smartphone camera.

Tap the arrow icon to flip your smartphone camera. Note that you can’t use flash lighting in Live video mode.

Go Live:

After you have everything set up, click Start Live Video to start your broadcast. Once you start your live video, Instagram will notify your followers .

#2: MANAGE YOUR LIVE BROADCAST

While you’re live on Instagram, it’s good to know some key settings. At the bottom of the screen, you can see the number of viewers and the users who have joined your live video. You can even prompt a conversation by starting and replying to comments.

You can reply to comments at the bottom of the Instagram Live screen.

You can reply to comments at the bottom of the Instagram Live screen. This helps you keep tabs on whether your audience is engaged in what you’re showing them, based on how often you see people comment or exit. If you want to close commenting, tap on the three dots at the bottom right.

Click the three dots icon to turn off commenting for your live broadcast.

Tap on the Live button at the top left of the screen to find out how long you’ve been broadcasting.

Tap the Live icon to see how long you've been broadcasting on Instagram.

To see who’s watching your broadcast, tap on the number of viewers to the right of the Live button (at the top left). 

Click the X next to a person's name to remove him or her from your Instagram Live broadcast.

If you need to kick someone out click the X next to a person’s name to remove him or her from your Instagram Live broadcast.

#3: END THE BROADCAST

When you’re ready to end your broadcast, tap the End button at the top-right corner of the screen.

Tap the End button to end your Instagram Live broadcast.

You see the below screen when you end your Instagram Live broadcast. Tap “End Now”.

#4 Save/Download Your Live Video

Once you have ended your live, the following options will appear. This is a very important part of your live as it will determine what happens to your live video once it has ended.

Instagram has now made it possible to download or share your live video once you are done. Simply select the option that you want. 

Share to story: your video will feature in your stories and then disappear after 24 hrs.

Share to IGTV: Your story will be uploaded to IGTV, you can add a title and description to your video as well as select a cover for your video and preview the video on your timeline.

Download Video: your video will be saved to your gallery on your device. Remember that this needs to be set up in your Story Settings before you go live.

Delete Video: this will delete the video permanently and you will not be able to retrieve the video once deleted. 

#5: KEY TIPS

  • Try choosing a clean and aesthetically pleasing background/room so you don’t distract the viewers from your message. 
  • Try looking for a small quiet room for maximum sound quality and minimum distractions. 
  • Film right next to your window for ideal lighting.
  • Don’t forget to charge your phone!
  • Promote your post (before and after your live) not only on Instagram, but Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube as well. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *